Space Miner Automatic Planet Generation P4

Yolo!

Some progress today for my planet generator in Space Miner, I have added a random generation for the next tile to be chosen (Lower, Level or Higher). I have also worked a bit on getting the edges between Areas connected properly.

Basically what I have now is a randomly generated planet surface without the logic to tie together the start and end surface. I am able to choose the radius of the planet, which gives me control of the size I want. The screenshots I am showing off has a radius of about 40, but real planets will hopefully be at least 10x-50x larger.

The next tasks will be:

  • Make the generator tie together the start and end of the surface by moving towards the same radius
  • Make the probability of next tile being Higher and Lower based on the current radius
    • Higher tile is more probable if radius is low
    • Lower tile is more probable if radius is high
    • Level tile should have a static probability… I think.
  • Make it a high probability of the next tile being the same as the previous one

planetProcedurallyGenerated02

Leave a comment